Poem: The Romantic

This is a free-verse poem I wrote a while back (8-14-2014, to be exact). I was going to read it at an open mic event but the event was cancelled, so instead I share it here and now! The tone is happy and optimistic, by the way. It’s about how our dreams support us and keep us going. Never, never, never give up on them!

I tie myself down to my dreams
so that I can relieve the burden of reality
to stay afloat
above the restless seas of everyday life.

I wander through the forests of my imagination
so that I may find meaning and fulfillment
to be free
of the entangling tedium and check-marks.

I crawl through the burning desert
so that my thirst for excitement might be quenched
to discover water
that will keep me alive through the sweltering mundane.

I escape within and throughout my mind.

I am alive because of these yearnings.

And I rejoice at my fellow travelers.

( ©2016 Sean Dorsey )

2 thoughts on “Poem: The Romantic

    1. I’m glad. I had to add that last line because when I reread it I realized it didn’t really convey the happy, “excited for the future” kinda tone that I wanted it to and that I was feeling when I wrote it. 😆

Leave a Reply

